To See Takes Time by bernadette

Jay
12/12/2012 02:54 am
Further Continuance         
This is a really good story, a lot of potential, I enjoyed it trememdously, you must finish it. 

Patt
09/16/2012 05:45 am
Further Continuance         
Please finish this story its great

Blackoberst
01/04/2008 12:44 pm
Further Continuance         
I'm really looking forward to more of this story, as I've enjoyed it very much so far.
good to hear; unfortunately, everything's kinda on hiatus what with holidays and work, but more's slowly being produced and will eventually be posted.

jessica
12/27/2007 05:58 pm
Further Continuance         
more please. i really like this story i hope that portal buffy's spike becomes un-dead again too. that would be awesome. if say he actually did survive and they set him to get buffy cause she is like stuck in the past or is it another demension ala SLIDERS.
it would be awesome, but i'm afraid that this story is much more 4s-buffy centric. maybe someone else can write that bit...?

Izzy
12/08/2007 12:47 am
Further Continuance         
The ideas shown and evolving, new paths to be explored, are fascinating. I'm impressed at how realistic younger Buffy's character is, but doesn't fall into the denial or anger that were a part of her thought process.
For Portal-Buffy, I'm glad to see she's happy and living now. It's clear she has deep feelings for Spike, but losing him didn't destroy her. I don't know if Portal-Buffy can get the guy in the end, but I think focusing on the younger Buffy and Spike is enough. Loved seeing the Scooby interaction in this chapter, and thought the Xander problem was handled beautifully.
Good job, please update soon!
realism, me? dear god, i must be slipping! *grins*
thanks, i love writing the chatty bits.

Pauline
12/07/2007 10:22 pm
Further Continuance         
I love your story !! It'd be wonderful if you could come up with a way to give Portal-Buffy her Spike when she goes back home(like dimensions influencing each other or something...)Anyway this season 4 is perfect!
's the way things should have been, no? *grins* don't think i'm gonna do anything with portal-buffy's world, actually, bt it's a nice thought.

12/07/2007 01:50 am
Further Continuance         
So glad you decided to continue even with the beta bailing. I appreciate your muse!
work's slow-going, but i'm on it!

peck
12/06/2007 11:53 pm
Further Continuance         
back online now, and i'm loving the new updates. thanks for all your hard work.
thanks. more are coming, but it's all hustle-bustle these days and 'll be a bit.

12/06/2007 05:31 am
Further Continuance         
very good read. more accurately fun chapter, thank you. the current buffy just might have less pain in her life.
"accurately fun", huh? i can work with that. and that's what i'm hoping - it would suck to get to the end of portal-buffy's stay and realize that some major logical inconsistency in what i already wrote meant that i had to have dawn and willow wipe everything... *is basically and essentially evil*

thanks for the review.

sirc
12/06/2007 02:47 am
Further Continuance         
great chapter
'm running out of nifty new ways to say thanks, but trust me, thank you!

jane
12/05/2007 09:01 am
Further Continuance         
Super update, really enjoyed it.
It's a bit of a shock seeing the scoobies so unbiased and rational. Hope it lasts.
so it's my perfect world - i always liked the monster-fighting with group hugs and cocoa for afters more than joss' favorite uber-angst, so i'm darned well gonna write about it! *grins* glad you liked.

12/05/2007 02:02 am
Further Continuance         
Love how they are ALL learning from Portal-Buffy really. Glad you are still bringing this lovely story our way too.

Kathleen
there were the threats to life and limb if i desisted, so... *grins*
cheers!

12/04/2007 10:33 am
Further Continuance         
Why do I think Riley's going to do something stupid to Buffy? And go nowBuffy for actually listening to portalBuffy and trying to make some actual life improvements. Let's see if Ben getting taken out actually will get rid of Glory. And I loved your Firefly quote.
would riley do that (*grins*)?

there was a firefly quote? where? obviously i've seen the show WAY too many times, 'cause i didn't even notice. oops.

12/04/2007 07:17 am
Further Continuance         
Hooray for really quick updates! I really like how Buffy is using her future self as a sort of sounding board to work things out. Also, love the original Scooby talk since it was lacking in canon around this time. It's good to see how this is changing everyone, not just Buff.
i knowthere've been times when i desperately wanted to know how things turn out - 's why i like time travel fics so much, i suppose. glad you're liking it!

DeanSamWinchesterfan
12/04/2007 04:47 am
Further Continuance         
Good chapter. Update soon. It's sad that Portal!Buffy's Spike is dead.It'd still be awesome if he fell out of love with her, and Portal!Buffy was convinced she drove the men she loved away.
i'm not really sure what you mean, but i'm glad you're liking the story.

All4Spike
12/04/2007 02:47 am
Further Continuance         
I love the bit about 'tapping into the Slayer' and freaking Riley out, not too sure it was a good idea though when he's still all 'demon bad'. Love the way Willow & Xander both seem to be more accepting than 'our' W&X.
I need some more Spuffy though.....
i don't think she was really doing it on purpose; that's why she kinda freaked. but i'm glad you're still enjoying it. heh. spuffy-loving may be awhile, but some snark is on the way *grins*

12/04/2007 01:53 am
Further Continuance         
Hey B, another good chapter. Hey, I'm not so great with the smackage, but I'm good at annoying pokage. That didn't come out right....lol. Definitely like both your fics, they stand out in a site with hundreds of stories. Later
Jaime
i, of course, think my stories are the best of the best (okay, maybe not. but i'm still kinda fond.) it's good to know that they stand out to other people (who are possibly a _wee_ bit less prejudiced than myself) as well *grins*

just try to keep the pokage to a pg-rating, ducks. this message board's supposed to be kid-safe!

12/04/2007 01:53 am
Further Continuance         
Hey B, another good chapter. Hey, I'm not so great with the smackage, but I'm good at annoying pokage. That didn't come out right....lol. Definitely like both your fics, they stand out in a site with hundreds of stories. Later
Jaime
most excellent! i, of course, like my own work, but it's good to know they stand out to others, too.

*grins* careful with the pokes, this is a PG-rated message board.

12/04/2007 01:14 am
Further Continuance         
Wonderful; just wonderful! I love the fact that Buffy, Willow & Xander are all communicating; I always thought it was so stupid the way they all fell apart in S4; they'd been so close, and been through so much, and I never could understand how relationships that were so connected would fall apart in just a few weeks, even with the uber-Spike manipulation treatment! I love the fact that this Buffy is so open, both to her Slayer self, and to the grey areas in her life; please update again soon. And on a side note, if you're looking for beta help, I'd be happy to give you an assist (cause then I'd get to read the updates faster!! *Rubs hands together and cackles maniacally!!!*)
beta help'd be fantastic! first duty: make sure i haven't screwed anything up so far. i'll send you the next chapter once i've got it written out - it may be a few days, because i've used up my notes and started playing it by ear until the end, though. gotta love the enthusiasm.

yeah, my favorite thing on buffy was how the scoobies worked together - i hated it when everything went to pot. so in my assorted universes, all goes well *grins*

12/07/2007 01:28 am
Part the Third         
Having lots of emotional turmoil to set straight is always of the good!
so i thought

12/06/2007 04:54 am
Part the Third         
excellent read, thank you. really enjoy your modified giles (he is, so far, not the ass he continually reverted to in canon.) this dimensions' riley is as dummy as canon. this buffy is well beyond her counterparts in maturity. can see why older buffy (and the coven) chose this spot.
*grins* thanks! i picked the time for a variety of reasons, not least being everyone's relative susceptibility to external influence. i'm glad you're liking the characters.

sirc
12/06/2007 02:33 am
Part the Third         
Well done
cheers

12/03/2007 09:55 pm
Part the Third         
Awesome chapter... Can't wait to see where you take this next.
thanks again! um... if i say something along the lines of "to see takes time", will you smack me? *grins*

caia
12/03/2007 11:57 am
Part the Third         
Enthralling.
terse and absolutely fabulous. thanks!

12/03/2007 08:45 am
Part the Third         
Gotta say I love this story especially with two of Buffy. I love seeing how future Buffy is a lot like in S7 but even more grown up and how past Buffy is already turning out to be so different than she would've been. Excited for Spuffy developments and to see Riley's reaction to her speech (I really don't see this ending well)! Update soon please!
glad you're liking it. i really have been trying to keep portal-Buffy in character with what happened in the show, and it's been tough - i keep wanting to mary-sue her. uck.

Dreylin
12/03/2007 12:35 am
Part the Third         
Can't wait to see how Buffy handles this! That she's not instantly going thou-shalt-not on Spike is encouraging. I'm sure it'll get messy before it gets fluffy, too. These two don't ever get it right on the first try! I love how candid Buffy - both Buffies - are being in this story. Great tone throughout too, blending seriousness and fun.
heh. buffy's commandments? it's a thought.

i dunno how much direct mess there'll be - if i played it out in true spuffy fashion, this thing'll turn epic. mostly i'm planning on mediating their actual emotional development through others, and just letting them banter when they're together (because yes, i'm weak. i admit it!)

thanks; always glad to hear i'm not mucking things up too badly.

12/02/2007 11:52 pm
Part the Third         
That's interesting, wasn't expecting the claim to have happened, or partially happened. Buffy seems pretty possessive of Spike though, so portal Buffy may want to watch it. It's telling that the feelings are hinted at and haven't been rejected outright. It's a good thing Buffy took the knife when she left Riley as I'm sensing he may have a wiggins and do something stupid now that he thinks she's not human
i wasn't expecting it either, until i wrote it. 'sall very bizarre - damned characters keep saying things and i don't notice until the words are on the page! and now i sound schizophrenic, but we all have our little problems, no?

Bridget
12/02/2007 10:17 pm
Part the Third         
This is a great story. I like how portal Buffy and this Buffy interact. Also, this Buffy thinks more. I also appreciated the talk that portal Buffy had with Giles about Spike. Please update soon.
heh. buffy and the scoobies reprise that talk in the next chapter, so i hope it doesn't bore you too much. but i'm glad you're enjoying it.

DeanSamWinchesterfan
12/02/2007 10:10 pm
Part the Third         
Good chapter. Update soon. Is Portal!Buffy's Spike no longer in love with her,dead,or does Portal!Buffy still think he's dead after Chosen or Not Fade Away?
'twill become clear (i hope)

thanks

polly
12/02/2007 08:54 pm
Part the Third         
Excellent story, really enjoying it. More please!!
sir, yes sir!

12/02/2007 07:13 pm
Part the Third         
This story so far is very interesting, and I like the direction it's taking with the claim. I hope more details about Spike's demon are added, and I wonder if the Slayer-demon idea will get mentioned. Good work, and I hope to read more!
i'll see what i can do on the demon-y goodness. and thanks!

12/02/2007 06:51 pm
Part the Third         
I'm really enjoying this story and look forward to seeing what happens next. Thanks!
cheers!

12/02/2007 05:23 pm
Part the Third         
Awesome chappie; I absolutely love this story; I love that Buffy is more open to Spike's presence than prior-Buffy; you've really got the characterizations & voices down pat; it feels like I'm watching an episode I never got to see, so thanks!! Please, please update again soon!!
yay! see, that's one of those awesome reviews - anything comparing me to the glory that is canon (well, kinda) is wholly welcome. *grins* glad you're liking it.

jane
12/02/2007 12:07 pm
Part the Third         
Great update, really enjoyed it. Lots for Buffy to mull over. Didn't like Riley's response to their conversation. Thought she realised they wouldn't work out and was gonna break things of with him. Got the impression he was starting to see her as an HST. can't be good. can't wait for more.
heh. riley. heh.

all will come clear.

maybe.

12/02/2007 09:08 am
Part the Third         
*grabs head* gah! Tease, tease me with a chapter here and there. *points finger and pouts* tease.

That was a great, great, great chapter. I cannot wait to read more, Keep up the great work,
Jace
what, me, a tease? *gasps*

*grins* okay, jubilation i can totally get behind. glad you're still liking it

sirc
12/06/2007 02:18 am
The Next Bit         
Great chapter! Well done
thanks!

Vickie
11/29/2007 07:07 am
The Next Bit         
Love this story! Please update soon.
working on it. glad you're enjoying.

11/15/2007 05:22 am
The Next Bit         
this buffy seems to have most off what she needs to grow into portal-buffy (and skip some of the pain.) very good read, thank you.
glad to know my shortcuts seem to be working

11/15/2007 04:52 am
The Next Bit         
Brilliant chapter. I love portal Buffy's heart to heart conversation with Giles, especially when she shares her view of Spike with him. This is the mature Buffy that we saw developing at the end of the series. Her characterization here rings very true. I'm looking forward to more of this fic. I can't wait to see how portal Buffy's revelations change events in this timeline.
*grins* yup. she's massively more mature than i am, so she's hella hard to write. i'm glad you're enjoying the fic.

11/15/2007 03:43 am
The Next Bit         
Enjoying the tale. However, wondering if possible TMI will affect outcomes.
that's what the forget-me spell is for - a failsafe. well, so i hope.

i dunno; i thought portal-buffy was being impressively discreet. it'd be too easy to go back and say: this is gonna happen, so just go with it. and fix this, this, and this. even when buffy asked about riley, p-b didn't actually say what was going to happen, she just gave her some insight. or i could be full of it. lemme know.

Dreylin
11/14/2007 09:57 am
The Next Bit         
Wow, this is good. My only fear is that we're covering a lot of territory - at least in exposition - in a hurry, and I don't want this story to be over. I can hardly wait for the next chapter.
thanks! and no worries, we're only on day one of a week

Kate
11/14/2007 03:13 am
The Next Bit         
This chapter was so incredibly fantastic!! I love how you still allowed S4 Buffy to figure things out for herself and come to the conclusions she needed to - with only some prodding form Portal-Buffy. This chapter worked so beautifully, but the moment at the end with Portal-Buffy asking S4 Giles to kill Ben was heart-breaking in a really moving way. I definitely cannot wait to read more!
*skips* your review just made me beyond giddy. i'm glad what i was trying to do came across, and that there was heart-tweaking to be had. thanks so much!

All4Spike
11/14/2007 02:29 am
The Next Bit         
Outstanding.
Introducing the Scoobies, and Buffy in particular, to the harsh realities of Slayerdom this early will make so much difference. More please.
thanks, that's kinda what i thought.

11/14/2007 12:19 am
The Next Bit         
Star performances from both Buffys, Spike, and Giles! Great job with the dialogue.
cheers!

11/13/2007 11:40 pm
The Next Bit         
more, more, more please! I really enjoy your fics.
*grins* i really enjoy your enthusiasm.

DeanSamWinchesterfan
11/13/2007 09:55 pm
The Next Bit         
Good chapter. Update soon. Time travel fics are my favorite, and I hope Portal!Buffy is able to help.
glad you liked it. of course, we could get to the end and find out she muffed the whole thing, and willow has to erase it all...

11/13/2007 04:12 pm
The Next Bit         
Oh this is spectacular! You are walking that fine line perfectly.

Love a more insightful and contemplative Buffy (have high hopes for this Spuffy in this dimension). Love friends that are already being relegated to followers instead of calling Buffy's shots. ADORE Giles with his mind intact...not parroting the Council but really listening and learning and THINKING....love him!

Love Portal Buffy trying to make things better. So sad her Spike died there in LA but it is a matter of hope that he won't have to in this dimension and that has to give her comfort.

Love the way you reveal our Spuffy history, sad as it is (it DOES fit the likelihood Joss left us with even if his comics go another route). Just enough to clue us in but keep our mind on THIS group.

Obviously Dawn is already on the scene in S4 of this universe. Good!

Looking forward to more. This is a joy to read.

Kathleen
*grins* so effusive, my dear! though i certainly don't mind. you're picking out all of my favorite things. i'm glad, glad, glad you're liking it.

Mr. Chaos
11/13/2007 02:44 pm
The Next Bit         
Great story, mainly because we are finally getting someone to say what should have been said ages ago.

Another example with Spike and humans would have been portal buffy herself: After spending time around spike and in England, she has begun to think British (Tea, wankers...). Its simple grouping mentality.
yup; scoobies are a herd, and spike's perfectly willing to run with 'em.

glad you like it.

11/13/2007 12:54 pm
The Next Bit         
Oh my God... That's all I can say. I really should pull some incredibly insightful remark out of my ass, some comment or review that will constructively critique your work, but I can't. Unfortunately, I've been run over by a wonderful story, and can only lie here on the side of the road going "Oh my God. Medic! Need another update soon! Medic!" Bravo.
um... sorry to cause you squishiness...?

*grins* i'm so, so glad you liked it. the first chapter was so peppy, i was a bit worried about making this one more serious.

11/13/2007 07:37 am
The Next Bit         
great chapter. hope things go easier and better for spike with portal buffy around.
thanks; me, too.

Rigby24
11/13/2007 07:23 am
The Next Bit         
Thanks for the update, squee! I was having a bad night, this made it better. Love it!
glad to help and even gladder you liked it *grins*

11/13/2007 08:26 pm
The Beginning         
What a fantastic fun story! A real treat.
glad you're liking it

Cherie
11/12/2007 10:06 am
The Beginning         
Loved the start to this one, good to see riley getting clocked with a stake LOL.
Keep up the good work!!!

Chez
thanks. glad to take out smarmy army guys for your reading pleasure...

11/12/2007 03:27 am
The Beginning         
Intriguing start. I love the banter between the various characters. The snarky, witty dialogue was always one of the things I loved about the series, and you've captured that brilliantly. I'm looking forward to more.
the dialogue was always my favorite, too, and i'm glad to hear i pulled it off *grins*

11/11/2007 05:55 pm
The Beginning         
Awesome start. Can't wait to see more
thanks. more should be comin' along.

DeanSamWinchesterfan
11/11/2007 02:49 am
The Beginning         
Good story so far. Update soon. I love Portal!Buffy. I wonder if she'll get Regular!Buffy and Spike together.
*cackles* ah, that's the question!

11/11/2007 12:21 am
The Beginning         
Excellent start here. Will be interesting what this visiting Buffy tells and does not tell to this group. YAY on the Eddie rescue.

Kathleen
yuppers. and those questions are what're giving me absolute fits!

11/10/2007 11:19 pm
The Beginning         
definitely set the hook with this opening chapter. very good read, thank you.
glad to hear it; hope it continues in the same vein

hotlipedjen
11/10/2007 10:35 pm
The Beginning         
Really interesting start.
thanks

All4Spike
11/10/2007 09:08 pm
The Beginning         
Oh what a wonderful start! Here's hoping FutureBuffy can head off the travesty that is Buffy/Riley and show the benefits of accepting Spike. Can't wait for more.
that'd be the plan, and thanks

Kate
11/10/2007 08:41 pm
The Beginning         
I love this story! What a fantastic start. I cannot wait to read more!! I love your funny, snarky banter between S4 Spike and Buffy that had a layer of friendship underneath.
thanks! glad i pulled off the funny; i clicked the "comedy" tab with no little trepidation

Izzy
11/10/2007 06:48 pm
The Beginning         
Great beginning to a time-travel fic. I like how you're focusing on the characters in the past, not the all-knowing future characters going back in time. That Portal-Buffy is so open and friendly, not bitter and cynical, after eleven years of slaying makes me think we'll be discovering her past along with the original Buffy and Spike and I'm fascinated by it.
That little hint of Spike's feelings after he explains about Clem's family and Buffy instantly decides to help the child, demon or not, is beautifully done. It's not glaringly obvious or love-at-first sight, and it's realistic. The banter and patrolling together and awe Spike shows at Buffy's decision about Eddy is a great start to a romance.
Hope you update soon, this story sounds like it'll get very interesting very soon with the Initiative skulking around!
*grins* stay out of my head!!!
glad you're liking it, and that my pseudo-subtlety meets with your approval.

Jane
11/10/2007 06:45 pm
The Beginning         
Good start, looks very promising. Looking forward to more
cheers

11/10/2007 05:25 pm
The Beginning         
Great beginning! Looking forward to future chapters.
thanks! they're on their way (unfortunately, they're also kinda slow)

sirc
11/10/2007 03:58 pm
The Beginning         
well done
cheers!

DAR
11/10/2007 03:23 pm
The Beginning         
Nice start looking forward to more of this tale.
thanks, and more's a-coming

11/10/2007 03:15 pm
The Beginning         
Let's hear it for Buffy the independent thinker, not buying the Council line on demons.
*grins* yup. see, she can change, she can grow! ...

11/10/2007 02:30 pm
The Beginning         
so far so good on the new story, i'll keep an eye out for more.
cheers; 'm not sure which i'll update next, but something should be coming soon.

11/10/2007 02:07 pm
The Beginning         
Oh, that was really good; nice to see Spike and Buffy getting along sort of!! You've got Spike's voice down to a T, and I love the banter between the two of them; please update again soon!!
i've been writing so much recently that my inner monologue sounds vaguely spike-ish, so i'm glad it's carrying over. glad you enjoyed.

11/10/2007 10:05 am
The Beginning         
Very nice start to what looks like and interesting story, thanks.
thanks

11/10/2007 07:07 am
The Beginning         
Interesting start, I'm enjoying this so far. Stupid Initiative, who cares if he's a demon? He's still just a kid, but they only seem to live in a black and white world. I'm glad Buffy helped distract them, so Spike could get him out of there. I'm guessing by future Buffy's reaction that Spike isn't with her in the future, but I could be wrong. I also really love time travel fictions. Can't wait for more=)
thanks for the vocal-ness *grins*
and portal-spuffy's relationship is still up in the air. eh, we'll see.

Rigby24
11/10/2007 06:39 am
The Beginning         
Ooh, I love time travel fics, they're my favorite!
Love this so much, can't wait for an update!
*grins* they're what i've been reading recently, so i thought i'd give my own a shot. glad you're enjoying it.